35 Innovators Under 35 2016

The people in our 16th annual celebration of young innovators are disrupters and dreamers. They’re inquisitive and persistent, inspired and inspiring. No matter whether they’re pursuing medical breakthroughs, refashioning energy technologies, making computers more useful, or engineering cooler electronic devices—and regardless of whether they are heading startups, working in big companies, or doing research in academic labs—they all are poised to be leaders in their fields.


Polina Anikeeva, Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT; Zhenan Bao, Professor of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University; Emily Cole, Chief Science Officer, Liquid Light; David Berry, General Partner, Flagship Ventures; Edward Boyden, Co-director, MIT Center for Neurobiological Engineering; Yet-Ming Chiang, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT; James Collins, Professor of Medical Engineering and Science, MIT; John Dabiri, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, Stanford University; David Fattal, CEO, Leia; Tanuja Ganu, Cofounder, DataGlen; Javier García-Martínez, Director, Molecular Nanotechnology Laboratory, University of Alicante, Spain; Julia Greer, Professor of Materials Science and Mechanics, Caltech; Christine Hendon, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering, Columbia University; Eric Horvitz, Managing Director, Microsoft Research; Rana el Kaliouby, CEO, Affectiva; Jennifer Lewis, Professor of Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University; Hao Li, CEO, Pinscreen; Assistant Professor of Computer Science, University of Southern California; Carmichael Roberts, Entrepreneur and General Partner, North Bridge Venture Partners; John Rogers, Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science & Engineering, University of Illinois; Umar Saif, Vice Chancellor, Information Technology University, Punjab; Rachel Sheinbein, Managing Director, Makeda Capital; Leila Takayama, Acting Associate Professor of Psychology, UC Santa Cruz; Jennifer West, Professor of Engineering, Duke University; Jackie Yi-Ru Ying, Executive Director, Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore; Ben Zhao, Professor of Computer Science, UC Santa Barbara; Daphne Zohar, CEO, PureTech